So you want to read The Daily Kylie…

you-are-hereI’m pretty glad you found this blog. In my opinion as a blogger, having an audience is much better than not having an audience. But this blog is not (entirely) about my opinions, and that’s where you come in.

Who I Am

My name is Kylie Pierce, and I am the Development Director at Rome Capitol Theatre. I have worked here since 2007, and love my job…most days. Our theatre was built in 1928, and reopened in 1985 as a not-for-profit theatre, performing arts center, and community gathering place. We are presently in the midst of a capital campaign to fund a project which will drastically increase the services that we can offer our city (pop. ~35,000) and larger service area.

This blog will also welcome other contributors from time to time–thought leaders, newbies, those who left their job or their profession for one reason or another, and anyone else who may have a relevant perspective on development and fundraising, in the arts or in general.

Why I’m Blogging

There are tons of blogs and publications out there that talk about the development field in general. I read many of these communications every day, partly because I love to read, and partly because, as you may soon know, I am partly insane and a glutton for punishment. That said, much of the information that comes across my desk has real value.

Working for an arts organization over the past several years has convinced me that the arts are a different animal than the causes that, as one colleague of mine is fond of saying, “cry, bleed and have fur.” A more nuanced view comes from Penelope Burk, who on her dedications page for Donor-Centered Fundraising, eloquently differentiated us as organizations that, as opposed to “saving countless lives,” “make those lives worth saving.”

I started this blog to concentrate and focus the development information that is most relevant to the arts into a single source. I don’t intend to be the only source of information, as I feel that having many contributors makes the conversation more worthwhile. But I did want to create a quick place for people to come when, in the few minutes per day that they can allot to industry reading and news, they want to touch on the important issues in the field of Arts and Culture Development.

What I’ll be Blogging About

There are so many topics that are in the Arts and Culture Development bubble. Annual funds, capital campaigns, tribute contributions, planned giving. Donor attraction, acquisition, recognition and retention. Prospect Research, cultivation of donors, moves management, making the “ask.” Job openings, webinars, conferences, trainings, professional development. And so many more. I’ll be touching on all of these from time to time. If you’re looking for information on a particular topic, feel free to search by tag or category. My overarching goal and pledge to you: relevant news, posted daily, that is useful to development professionals working in the arts.

How You Can Leave Feedback

As much as I’ve been caught talking to myself (sign of genius, right? I hope?), this blog isn’t intended to be a one-way conversation. Your input is always encouraged. Agree with me, disagree with me, share new ideas, tell me about your successes and your failures (we all have them). Use the comment section below each post, or if you’d rather, contact me using this handy dandy form. You can also interact with me on Twitter and Facebook. Your input may even inspire its own blog post on The Daily Kylie.

Basic ground rules: Keep it civil–we are all entitled to our thoughts and opinions. If you’re going to disagree, do it without being disagreeable (and yes, there is a difference). Any obviously offensive posts may be moderated at my discretion; I want everyone to feel comfortable in this forum. And there are no stupid questions or comments! Fire away.

If you’d like to share any of the content from this blog, let me know. I’d be happy to oblige you, or contribute to your own blog as a guest blogger.

Above all, I hope you enjoy this blog as much as I will enjoy creating the content for you. Thanks for reading.

About agirlnamedkylie

I coordinate development for an historic movie theatre that is now a super duper arts machine. I live with my husband and our three cats in the house that he grew up in. When I'm not writing or working, I like to watch classic, foreign and independent movies, knit, cook, make lists, and be generally happy most of the time.

Posted on February 22, 2013, in Blogging, Developing Relationships, Kylie, Philanthropy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

