Magic Monday: Stop Multitasking

“Magic Monday” posts help you start the week off right. Monday is a great day to review and regroup; if you set your mind to it, you can make this your best week yet. Thank gosh it’s Monday!

I am the world’s worst multi-tasker. Some days I can’t even walk the 10 feet from my assistant’s office to the time clock without getting distracted. I am very guilty of trying to do too much, in which case everything I am trying to accomplish suffers. Studies have shown that multitasking isn’t worth it for most people. If you have trouble single-tasking, here’s a short video that may help. The difficult part may be focusing on the video without trying to do something else at the same time!

Have any of you largely eliminated multitasking from your work day? Have you noticed a difference?

Posted on April 8, 2013, in Industry Research, Kylie, Magic Monday, Productivity, Videos, Workplace Issues, Your Career and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Actually, there is no such thing as multitasking. I did some research on it for an article for my company’s newsletter. What is called multitasking is actually short spurts of attention.

    • TheDailyKylie

      I’m not surprised, Molly. In your research, did you find when the idea of multitasking gained traction? I suspect it has a lot to do with the speed of visual technologies; did you find anything to that effect?

  1. Pingback: Packing My Bag For The Day … | THE STRATEGIC LEARNER

Leave a Reply

